Asset Publisher
Back

160922_PM Sommerfest

PM ~ Flussbad on the banks of the Spree Canal

Green Light for Temporary Flussbad Information and Exhibition Platform: Historical Site to Showcase Flussbad Berlin Project in Spree Canal Including Pilot Water-Filter System

Dear Friends & Colleagues,


At yesterday’s 1st Annual Flussbad Summer Fest, we had the pleasure of celebrating the end of the season with over 250 Flussbad Association members, supporters, politicians and many neighbours in the courtyard of the European School for Management and Technology (ESMT Berlin). The get-together provided us with the opportunity to showcase a number of forthcoming projects and especially to introduce a key new partnership: our neighbours at ESMT are now active supporters of the Flussbad Berlin project and have agreed to make an 865 m2 historical area along the Spree Canal available for a limited time free-of-charge starting right now.  

We are therefore happy to announce that from early summer 2017 to late 2018, the Flussbad Berlin Association will open a public platform on the ESMT site designed to function as an exhibition and discussion area for issues relating to the project. It will also function as a summer event location and a presentation space for other projects dealing with urban public space.

The terrace area, which is still in the planning phase at this point, will serve as a window on the history of swimming and bathing culture in Berlin. It will trace the foundations of a bathing area known as the “Doppel-Badeanstalt” (“Double Bathing Area”) that was built on this very site in the Mühlengraben area of the Spree Canal between 1895 and 1897, and which closed in 1925. The area will be constructed on a 1:1 scale based on historical sketches.

The information platform on the banks of the Spree Canal at the ESMT will be accompanied by a floating water-filter system. A unique filter system is also currently in the planning phase and will be built into the historical ship known as the “Hans-Wilhelm” belonging to the Historical Port of Berlin. The idea here is to operate a scaled version of the natural filter system planned for the Flussbad. This pilot filter project will last for two years and be monitored scientifically, with all results integrated into the ultimate design of the actual Flussbad in the Spree Canal.

The realisation of these projects is made possible with support from the "National Urban Planning Project" initiated in 2014 by Germany’s Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety and the Berlin Senate Department for Urban Development and the Environment.

Please contact us with any questions or queries you might have. Thank you for your interest in our project and for passing on this information to others.

All the best,

Barbara Schindler

Asset Publisher
Zurück

160922_PM Sommerfest

PM ~ Flussbad verortet sich am Spreekanal

Sommerfest anläßlich der Eröffnung einer temporären Informations- und Ausstellungsplattform für die Präsentation und Diskussion des Projekts Flussbad Berlin im Spreekanal und der Pilotanlage zur Spreewasserfilterung

Gestern feierten wir mit über 250 Vereinsmitgliedern, UnterstützerInnen, engagierten PolitikerInnen und vielen NachbarInnen unser Sommerfest im Garten der European School for Management and Technology (ESMT Berlin). Dabei konnten wir auf zukünftige Projekte und eine neue wichtige Partnerschaft unseres gemeinnützigen Vereins hinweisen: Die ESMT Berlin als Anrainer und aktiver Unterstützer des Flussbad Berlin-Projekts öffnet seinen Garten zum Spreekanal und stellt dem Verein ab sofort ein 865 m2 großes Teilstück unentgeldlich zur Verfügung.

Von Frühsommer 2017 bis Ende 2018 wird der Verein „Flussbad Berlin“ hier eine öffentliche Plattform zur Ausstellung und Diskussion des gleichnamigen Projekts bespielen. Sie wird außerdem als sommerlicher Veranstaltungsort genutzt werden und anderen Projekten, die sich ebenfalls mit dem öffentlichen Raum auseinandersetzen, eine Präsentationsfläche bieten.
Die in Planung befindliche Terrassenanlage dient dabei gleichzeitig als historisches Fenster in die Berliner Flussbadekultur: Sie zeichnet den aus Skizzen rekonstruierten Grundriss des Schwimmerbeckens der „Doppel-Badeanstalt“ im Maßstab 1:1 nach, die zwischen 1895-97 im Mühlengraben eröffnet (und 1925 geschlossen) wurde.

Ergänzt wird die Informationsplattform am Ufer durch eine ebenfalls in Planung befindliche, schwimmende Pilotanlage zur natürlichen Reinigung des Spreewassers. Eingebaut in den historischen Finowmaßkahn „Hans-Wilhelm“ aus dem Bestand des Historischen Hafens Berlin soll hier über einen Zeitraum von zwei Jahren eine maßstäbliche Version des für das Flussbad geplanten, natürlichen Filtersystems betrieben werden. Die Auswertung der wissenschaftlichen Begleitung der Pilotanlage wird für die spätere Planung des eigentlichen Flussbads im Spreekanal genutzt.

Die Realisierung dieser Projekte wird durch die seit 2014 bestehende Förderung aus dem Programm „Nationale Projekte des Städtebaus“ durch das Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz, Bau und Reaktorsicherheit und der Berliner Senatsverwaltung für Stadtentwicklung und Umwelt ermöglicht.