Asset Publisher
Back

170621_Flussbad Cup

PM ~ 3. Berlin Flussbad Swimming Cup on 2 July 2017

The time and date of our 3rd annual Berlin Flussbad Swimming Cup has now been confirmed. Weather and water quality permitting, we will hold our traditional swimming event this year on Sunday, 2 July 2017, with participants once again completing a one-kilometre swim from the Bode Museum to the Schlossbrücke (Palace Bridge) and back. The entire event will be held under the patronage of Berlin’s Governing Mayor, Michael Müller. But the 2017 Flussbad Cup isn’t just for ambitious athletes; all registered recreational swimmers will also be able to enjoy a river swimming through the Spree Canal along Berlin’s Museum Island where the future Flussbad will be located.

SCHEDULE
12 – 12:45 pm             Warm-up for swimmers participating in the race
12:50                           Choir of The House of World Cultures, conducted by Barbara Morgenstern
1 pm                            Welcome greeting
1:15-2:30 pm              Competition – carried out in different heats
2:40 pm                      Award ceremony
2:30-5:30 pm             River swimming after the official competition
5:30 pm                      End of the event

COMPETITION
This year, participants in the Flussbad Cup race will start in heats consisting of men and women. All participants will receive a certificate at the end of the race.

FLUSSSCHWIMMEN – RECREATIONAL SWIM
The swimming area will be opened for all registered “Flussschwimmer” (recreational swimmers) after the competition has finished, that is, from roughly 2:30 to 5:30 pm. This year, the Flussschwimmer won’t have start numbers on their bathing caps, nor will their swim times be recorded. All participants will receive a personalised certificate of participation.

REGISTRATION
As of 21 June 2017, 308 people have registered to take part: 154 women and 154 men (as of 21 June). The registration deadline is Sunday 25 June at 12pm. Up to 400 swimmers can participate in the event. On-site registration will be possible on the day of the event.

WATER QUALITY
The race area in the Spree Canal along Berlin’s Museum Island is not designated as an official bathing area. For this reason, the race poses a definite health risk, for example, as a result of pathogens in the water. In order to avoid any risks, the water in the race area will be tested twice for microbes by Berliner Wasserbetriebe, Berlin’s water authority. We will publish the results of the samples on our website on the day of the event. If there are storms or strong rainfalls shortly before the competition, it is possible that the quality of the water in the race area will become impacted by the discharge of mixed wastewater from the sewage system. In this case, the competition will have to be cancelled at short notice. We will be receiving daily updates from Berliner Wasserbetriebe regarding possible mixed-water discharges into the Spree Canal right up until race time.

SUPPORTERS AND PARTNERS
Since 2014, the organisation of the Flussbad Swimming Cup has been made possible by funding from the federal government and the government of Berlin as part of their “National Urban Development Projects” programme. We would like to thank our other partners, as well:  Berliner Triathlon Union e.V., Berliner Wasserbetriebe and Berliner Wasserratten gegr. 1889 e.V. The task of securing and safeguarding the route will be handled by THW-Helfervereinigung Neukölln e.V. and the Berlin branch of the German Lifesaving Association (DLRG). Also a big thank-you to our new sponsor SPREEQUELL as well as to the musician Barbara Morgenstern, whos Flussbad-song will première with the Choir of the House of Cultures Berlin.

 

Photos of the first two Flussbad Swimming Cups are available here on our website. For security reasons, access to the Spree Canal at Monbijou Bridge will not be possible for the press. Our goal with this annual event is to publicise the Flussbad project; however, we are also eager to highlight the poor condition of rivers in general and to send out a clear signal in support of water preservation and protection.

Asset Publisher
Zurück

170621_Flussbad Pokal

PM ~ 3. Berliner Flussbad Pokal am 2. Juli 2017

Am Sonntag, 2. Juli 2017 werden wir – sofern es die Wasserqualität erlaubt – unseren traditionellen Schwimmwettbewerb auf einer Länge von 1.000 Metern zwischen Bode-Museum und Schlossbrücke veranstalten, dieses Jahr unter der Schirmherrschaft des Regierenden Bürgermeisters von Berlin, Michael Müller. Dabei haben nicht nur ehrgeizige Sportler*innen Gelegenheit um den Pokal 2017 zu schwimmen, sondern auch alle angemeldeten Freizeitschwimmer*innen können die Strecke des zukünftigen Flussbads entlang der Berliner Museumsinsel ausprobieren („Flussschwimmen“).

ABLAUFPLAN
12–12.45 Uhr              Einschwimmen für Wettkampfschwimmer*innen
12.50 Uhr                    Chor der Kulturen der Welt, Ltg. Barbara Morgenstern
13 Uhr                         Begrüßung
13.15-14. 30 Uhr         Wettkampf (Start in Wellen)
14.40 Uhr                    Sieger*innen-Ehrung
14.30-17. 30 Uhr         Flussschwimmen (im Anschluss an den Wettkampf)
17.30 Uhr                     Ende der Veranstaltung

WETTKAMPF
In diesem Jahr starten die Wettkampfschwimmer*innen in gemischten Gruppen (m/w). Alle Teilnehmer*innen erhalten eine Urkunde nach Ende des Wettkampfs.

FLUSSSCHWIMMEN
Die Schwimmstrecke ist im Anschluss an den Wettkampf von ca. 14.30 Uhr bis 17.30 Uhr, für alle angemeldeten Flussschwimmer*innen geöffnet. Es erfolgt keine Vergabe von Startnummern und keine Zeitnahme. Alle TeilnehmerInnen erhalten eine personalisierte Teilnahmeurkunde.

ANMELDUNGEN
Bis heute haben sich 308 Personen angemeldet: 154 Frauen und 154 Männer (Stand 21.6.2017). Anmeldeschluss ist Sonntag, der 25. Juni um 12 Uhr. Bis zu 400 Schwimmer*innen können mitmachen, Nachmeldungen vor Ort sind am Tag der Veranstaltung evtl. möglich.

WASSERQUALITÄT
Das Wettkampfgebiet im Spreekanal entlang der Museumsinsel ist nicht als Badegewässer ausgewiesen. Deshalb kann ein gesundheitliches Risiko z.B. durch vorhandene Krankheiterreger nicht ausgeschlossen werden. Um ein Risiko durch mögliche Erkrankungen weitgehend auszuschließen, wird das Gewässer im Schwimmabschnitt vor der Veranstaltung zweifach mikrobiologisch durch die Berliner Wasserbetriebe untersucht. Die Ergebnisse der Probenentnahmen veröffentlichen wir am Wettkampftag auf unserer Webseite. Bei eventuellen Unwettern und Starkregenfällen kurz vor der Veranstaltung kann die Wasserqualität der Schwimmstrecke durch Einleitungen von Mischwasser aus dem Kanalisationssystem erheblich beeinträchtigt werden. In diesem Fall muss der Schwimmwettbewerb leider kurzfristig abgesagt werden. Über mögliche Überläufe der Mischwasserkanalisation im Spreekanal werden wir tagesaktuell von den Berliner Wasserbetrieben informiert.

FÖRDERER UND PARTNER
Die Durchführung des Pokals wird durch die seit 2014 bestehende Förderung aus dem Bundesprogramm „Nationale Projekte des Städtebaus“ durch den Bund und das Land Berlin ermöglicht. Wir danken unseren Kooperationspartnern: dem Berliner Triathlon Union e.V., den Berliner Wasserbetrieben und dem Berliner Wasserratten gegr. 1889 e.V. Die Absicherung der Strecke wird dankenswerterweise durch die THW-Helfervereinigung Neukölln e.V. und den Landesverband Berlin e.V. der Deutschen Lebens-Rettungs-Gesellschaft geleistet. Vielen Dank auch unserem Sponsor SPREEQUELL sowie der Musikerin Barbara Morgenstern, deren Flussbad-Song am 2.7. mit dem Chor der Kulturen der Welt uraufgeführt wird.

HINWEIS
Auf Grund von Sicherheitsbestimmungen ist der Zugang zum Spreekanal an der Monbijoubrücke für Presse (inkl. Fotograf*innen) nicht möglich. Pressebilder zum kostenlosen Abdruck finden Sie hier.

Mit dem alljährlichen Wettbewerb möchten wir nicht nur das Flussbad-Projekt bekannter machen, sondern auch auf den schlechten Zustand der Flüsse hinweisen und ein allgemeines Zeichen für den Gewässerschutz setzen.