Asset Publisher
Back

Chicago - Friends of the Chicago River

Chicago - Friends of the Chicago River

Since 1979, Friends of the Chicago River has been working to improve the health of the Chicago River system for the benefit of people and wildlife and by doing so, has laid the foundation for the river to be a beautiful, continuous, easily accessible corridor of open space in the Chicago region.

Since the founding, Friends of the Chicago River has carried out a myriad of planning initiatives and played a key role in changing how the City of Chicago and other municipalities treat the river in development ordinances and plans. This has led to a number of river-edge improvements including riverwalks and waterside parks that feature the Chicago River.

Today the work of the organisation also includes policy initiatives geared towards improving the water quality of the river so that it can support native plants, fish and other wildlife, and a variety of recreational uses; on-the-ground projects that result in physical improvements and the preservation of quality habitat; and education and outreach programs that inform and inspire people to help revitalize the Chicago River. As a result, the Chicago River is becoming a haven for wildlife and a treasured community resource.

More in-depth information about Friends of the Chicago River can be found here.

Asset Publisher
Zurück

Chicago - Friends of the Chicago River

Chicago - Friends of the Chicago River

Seit 1979 hat sich die Organisation "Friends of the Chicago River" zum Ziel gesetzt, den Zustand des Chicago Rivers und seines Ökosystems zu verbessern, damit die Menschen sowie die Tier- und Pflanzenwelt diesen wieder für sich nutzen können. Zudem soll so ein beständiger, einladender und leicht zugänglicher öffentlicher Raum für Chicago und seine Region entstehen.

Seit der Gründung von Friends of the Chicago River hat die Organisation unzählige Planungsaktivitäten und Veranstaltungen durchgeführt und eine Schlüsselrolle im Prozess des Umdenkens der Stadt Chicago und anderer Gemeinden übernommen, wie der Fluss in die Stadtplanung und bei Gesetzesverordnungen integriert werden kann. Dies hat bereits zu vielen Verbesserungen am Ufer des Flusses geführt, wie bsp. der Entstehung von Uferwegen und an den Fluss angrenzende Parks.

Heutzutage liegt der Hauptfokus der Organisation in politischen Aktionen um die Wasserqualität des Flusses zu verbessern, so dass sich einheimische Pflanzen, Fische und andere Lebewesen weder ansiedeln können und die Menschen den Fluss für Freizeitaktivitäten wieder entdecken. Durch Vermittlungs- und Vernetzungsprogramme werden Menschen dazu motiviert, den Chicago River für sich zu entdecken und zur Revitalisierung beizutragen.

Dies alles hilft dabei, den Chicago River als Lebensraum für die Pflanzen- und Tierwelt und als gemeinschaftliche Ressource zu bewahren.

Weiterführende Informationen zu Friends of the Chicago River sind hier zu finden.