Web Content Display

River baths worldwide

Flussbad Berlin is of course not the only river bath worldwide. And it is not even the first in the world. There are many pioneers and at least as many contemporary companions.

The tradition of river bathing is a very old one, especially in Switzerland. Whether in the Rhine, Limmat or Aare, the water quality is usually so good that you can just jump into these rivers. Over the past two decades, many cities around the world have bethought of their bodies of water, which are being increasingly reconquered by the citizens.

You will find a small collection of urban river baths around the world here which will grow bit by bit. These reference projects are located on rivers, streams, former rivers and sea harbours and have been upgraded with more or less infrastructure.

Asset Publisher
Back

Dublin - City Liffey Swim

Dublin - City Liffey Swim

The Dublin City Liffey Swim (Irish: Snámh na Life, Bhaile Átha Cliath) is one of the most famous open sea races throughout the world. It was first run in 1920 when it was devised by Bernard Fagan an engineer in Dublin Corporation to show the citizens the good quality of the water in the Liffey.

The Dublin City Liffey Swim is the highlight of the open sea swimming season and in particular for the native Dubliners there is something special about being able to swim down the Liffey in early September. This also provides a great spectacle for the Dublin public who line the quays, boardwalks and bridges along the mile and a quarter (2,200 metres) course to catch a glimpse of this unique event.

The race is managed by a voluntary not-for-profit organisation, Leinster Open Sea. Many levels and ages of swimmers compete in the race, but entrants must be a member of a swimming club. International competitors are common and very welcome. The first Liffey Swim took place on the 22 July 1920 with 27 male swimmers. In 2018, 320 men and 219 women completed the 99th Liffey Swim which will see its 100th edition in 2019.

More information on the Dublin City Liffey Swim can be found here.

Webcontent-Anzeige

Flussbäder weltweit

Flussbad Berlin ist natürlich nicht das einzige Flussbad weltweit. Und das erste Flussbad der Welt ist es genauso wenig. Es gibt viele Vorreiter und mindestens genauso viele zeitgenössische Wegbegleiter.

Die Tradition des Flussbadens reicht insbesondere in der Schweiz sehr weit zurück. Ob in Rhein, Limmat oder Aare, die Wasserqualität ist dort meist so gut, dass man einfach so in diese Flüsse springen kann. In den vergangenen zwei Dekaden besinnten sich weltweit viele Städte ihrer Gewässer, die zunehmend von der Stadtgesellschaft zurück erobert werden.

Hier wollen wir eine Auswahl von Referenzprojekten zu unserer Flussbad Berlin Idee auf der ganzen Welt zeigen und peu à peu ergänzen. Diese liegen an Flüssen, Bächen, ehemaligen Fluss- und Meereshäfen und wurden mit mehr oder weniger Infrastruktur ertüchtigt.

Asset Publisher
Zurück

Dublin - City Liffey Swim

Dublin - City Liffey Swim

Der Dubliner City Liffey Swim (Irish: Snámh na Life, Bhaile Átha Cliath) ist einer der bekanntesten Freiwasserschwimmwettbewerbe in der ganzen Welt. 1920 fand er zum ersten Mal statt und wurde von Bernard Fagan organisiert, einem Ingenieur der Dublin Corporation, um zu zeigen, welch eine gute Wasserqualität der Fluss Liffey in Dublin hat.

Der Dubliner City Liffey Swim ist der Höhepunkt der Freiwasser-Schwimmsaison und insbesondere für die einheimischen Dubliner ist es etwas Besonderes, Anfang September den Fluss Liffey hinunter schwimmen zu können. Dies ist auch für Zuschauer ein großartiges Schauspiel, die die Kais, Promenaden und Brücken entlang der 2.200 Meter langen Strecke säumen, um einen Blick auf dieses einzigartige Ereignis zu erhaschen.

Der Schwimmwettbewerb wird von einer freiwilligen gemeinnützigen Organisation, der Leinster Open Sea, geleitet. Schwimmer*innen unterschiedlicher Alters- und Erfahrungsstufen konkurrieren in dem Wettbewerb miteinander, aber alle Teilnehmer müssen Mitglied eines Schwimmclubs sein. Internationale Teilnehmer*innen sind üblich und stets willkommen. Der erste Liffey Swim fand am 22. Juli 1920 mit 27 männlichen Schwimmern statt. Im Jahr 2018 dagegen absolvierten allein 320 Männer und 219 Frauen den 99. Liffey Swim, welcher in 2019 zum 100. Mal stattfindet.

Mehr Information zum Dublin City Liffey Swim sind hier zu finden.