Web Content Display

River baths worldwide

Flussbad Berlin is of course not the only river bath worldwide. And it is not even the first in the world. There are many pioneers and at least as many contemporary companions.

The tradition of river bathing is a very old one, especially in Switzerland. Whether in the Rhine, Limmat or Aare, the water quality is usually so good that you can just jump into these rivers. Over the past two decades, many cities around the world have bethought of their bodies of water, which are being increasingly reconquered by the citizens.

You will find a small collection of urban river baths around the world here which will grow bit by bit. These reference projects are located on rivers, streams, former rivers and sea harbours and have been upgraded with more or less infrastructure.

Asset Publisher
Back

Siegen - Siegtreppen

Siegen - Siegtreppen

For more than 30 years, the "Siegplatte" (a large parking lot) concealed the central area of the river in the city centre of Siegen and was therefore emblematic of the car-friendly city of post-war modernism. With the renaturation of the river, the 180 meter long new "Siegtreppen", with the redesign of other squares, promenades and bridges in the immediate vicinity of the River Sieg, the city gets back its centre close to the river. The spacious open spaces combine the versatile demands of the residents for urban life and "green" recreation in direct contact with the element of water.

In the city centre of Siegen the first large parking lot, the so-called "Siegplatte" was built in 1968/69. The 260 meter long overbuilding of the Sieg, which remained visible only through a gap, had to be urgently renovated after thirty years. However, discussions had already started on a demolition of the platform since 1991, but they were only implemented as part of the "Regionale 2013" structural development programme in South Westphalia - fundings that would not have been available for a refurbishment.

The platform should give way to a long flight of steps with seating and steps leading towards the renaturalised riverbed. Barrier-free access to the lower levels via a ramp was also included in the planning draft. Some seating platforms were made of water-resistant Douglasia trunks, in order to be able to withstand any flooding of the River Sieg, where the amount of water carried by the river can rise up to ten times of the normal amount. Due to an expected strong use by residents and guests of the city a strong greening was excluded from the draft. Furthermore, new bridges were built and the adjacent pedestrian zones were repaved and equipped with tree beds, benches and playground equipment.

In order to convince the critics and to facilitate the long construction period for the citizens and retailers, the urban redevelopment was offensively communicated. School classes painted the vacated “Siegplatte” before its demolition and turned it into an oversized piece of art. A “demolition festival” initiated the construction work in 2012. An office on site and a website informed about the construction progress. The mayor, the old and the new city council building officer offered personal site tours.

Siegen's citizens now populate the new shores as the first rays of sunlight appear, which have already entered the linguistic usage as “Siegtreppen”. Now, the other courageous steps must prove that the revival of the historic Upper Town succeeds, too.

More information on the project „Siegtreppe“ can be found here.

Webcontent-Anzeige

Flussbäder weltweit

Flussbad Berlin ist natürlich nicht das einzige Flussbad weltweit. Und das erste Flussbad der Welt ist es genauso wenig. Es gibt viele Vorreiter und mindestens genauso viele zeitgenössische Wegbegleiter.

Die Tradition des Flussbadens reicht insbesondere in der Schweiz sehr weit zurück. Ob in Rhein, Limmat oder Aare, die Wasserqualität ist dort meist so gut, dass man einfach so in diese Flüsse springen kann. In den vergangenen zwei Dekaden besinnten sich weltweit viele Städte ihrer Gewässer, die zunehmend von der Stadtgesellschaft zurück erobert werden.

Hier wollen wir eine Auswahl von Referenzprojekten zu unserer Flussbad Berlin Idee auf der ganzen Welt zeigen und peu à peu ergänzen. Diese liegen an Flüssen, Bächen, ehemaligen Fluss- und Meereshäfen und wurden mit mehr oder weniger Infrastruktur ertüchtigt.

Asset Publisher
Zurück

Siegen - Siegtreppen

Siegen - Siegtreppen

Über 30 Jahre verdeckte die „Siegplatte“ als Großparkplatz den zentralen Bereich des Flusslaufes in der Siegener Innenstadt und war somit sinnbildlich für die autogerechte Stadt der Nachkriegsmoderne. Mit der Renaturierung des Flusslaufes, den 180 Meter langen neuen „Siegtreppen“, mit der Neugestaltung weiterer Plätze, Promenaden und Brücken im direkten Umfeld der Sieg erhält die Stadt ihre Stadtmitte am Fluss zurück. Die großzügigen Freiräume verbinden die vielseitigen Ansprüche der Bewohner auf städtisches Leben und „grüner“ Erholung im direkten Kontakt mit dem Element Wasser.

Im Stadtzentrum von Siegen wurde 1968/69 die erste Parkanlage gebaut, die sogenannte „Siegplatte“. Die 260 Meter lange Überbauung der Sieg, die nur noch durch einen Spalt sichtbar blieb, musste nach dreißig Jahren dringend saniert werden. Allerdings gab es seit 1991 bereits Diskussionen über einen Abriss der Plattform, der sich aber erst im Rahmen des Strukturförderprogramms „Regionale 2013“ in Südwestfalen umsetzen ließ – mit Fördermitteln, die es für eine Sanierung nicht gegeben hätte.

So sollte die Plattform einer langen Freitreppe mit Sitz- und Trittstufen, die an das renaturierte Flussbett grenzen, weichen. Auch ein barrierefreier Zugang zu den unteren Ebenen über eine Rampe wurde eingeplant. Einige Sitzpodeste wurden aus wasserbeständigen Douglasienstämmen gefertigt, um auch einer bis zu zehnfachen Wassermenge der Sieg bei Hochwasser standhalten zu können. Aufgrund einer erwarteten starken Nutzung wurde auf eine starke Begrünung verzichtet. Des Weiteren wurden neue Brücken errichtet sowie die angrenzenden Fußgängerzonen neu gepflastert und mit Baumbeeten, Sitzbänken und Spielgeräten ausgestattet.

Um die Kritiker zu überzeugen und den Bürgern und Einzelhändlern die lange Bauzeit zu erleichtern, wurde der Stadtumbau offensiv kommuniziert. So bemalten Schulklassen die frei geräumte Siegplatte vor ihrem Abriss und verwandelten sie in ein überdimensionales Kunstwerk. Ein „Abrissfest“ leitete 2012 die Bauarbeiten ein. Ein Baustellenbüro und eine Website, informierten über die Baufortschritte. Der Bürgermeister, der alte und der neue Stadtbaurat übernahmen persönlich Baustellenführungen.

Siegens Bürger bevölkern nun schon bei den ersten Sonnenstrahlen das neue Ufer, das als „Siegtreppe“ bereits in den Sprachgebrauch eingegangen ist. Nun müssen die weiteren mutigen Schritte beweisen, dass auch die Wiederbelebung der historischen Oberstadt gelingt.

Mehr Informationen zum Projekt „Siegtreppe“ sind hier zu finden.